#11

04/23/2015 19:28

Coming to Wheelock has definitely opened my eyes to issues in the world revolving around identity and spefically race. Growing up in the 2nd least divers high school in Massachusetts and meeting my first African American friend in college I was not exposed to anything outside of white suburbia. After taking my American identities course, I was extremely surprised by the racism that still occurs today. I never was forced to think about these issues in high school, and now being asked to think about them in all of my classes at times can be very overwhelming. For example, I had always thought about feminism and racism, but never thought about how black woman suffer more than white women. It has been challenging for me to learn about theses things because it is completely changing the way I see the world. Although these conversations are hard, I do think they are important and worth discussing.