#2

04/23/2015 19:10

Coming to Wheelock you already know that the school holds predominately whites and women. Knowing this, I don't get why the lack of diversity comes as a shock.

I still reflect back to last years incident of Eric Maitland sending out emails offering pay to white students who encouraged colored students to apply for OL and other student leader roles.

Before the incident took place I had planned on applying for OL. Upon hearing it, even after an “apology” was given, I decided not to go through with it for the simple fact being, if I got picked it would just be for my skin color and so that Wheelock “looked better/more diverse”.

I still don't agree with Wheelock student leader roles because I know it all comes back to that email and that colored people aren't simply being picked for their greatness, but just to hold an image.